“Refugees Stranded As Borders Close And Nations Crack Down”

“You are not welcome here” you tell me,
kneading the thread of my fate in your cold, rough hands.
I bow my head in silent defeat,
accepting that I am not yet home.
I may never be home.

I have looked hell in the face –
its strikingly human face.
My soul-wrenching hope for survival has led me to your door
and now it will lead me away.

Do you know the subtleties of a heartbeat?
in fear
in fatigue
in hunger
in pain
in restlessness
in courage
in hope

You know that my human heart beats just like yours,
pushing blood through my veins just like yours.

I know better.

Even our humanity can’t connect us –
after all,
that’s why you find it so easy
to say goodbye.

“Refugees Stranded As Borders Close And Nations Crack Down”

Leave a Reply

