Drown in Love

Sometimes
I look into your ocean eyes,
hoping to drown.

The world is raging
and debating
and hating,
because we love.

Baby, I always knew we were something,
but we’re kinda famous.

Our life is in the minds and mouths
of every home in America.
They think they get a say
in our future.

Is it just me,
or does this feel like
the family members we don’t like
trying to plan our wedding?

Let’s run away–
isn’t it crazy that we have to run from
the country so many are running to?

But when I look into 0your eyes, girl,
they aren’t there to tell me
it’s not okay.
When my lips touch yours,
they’re not there to tell me
I’m going to hell.
When I trace your lifelines,
they’re not there to tell me
that forever only exists
if I’m with a man.
They don’t get it, baby.

It’s not them.
It’s only me
and you.

Drown in Love

4 thoughts on “Drown in Love

Leave a Reply

