no more

You sound different when you say
I’m sorry. I tried
to understand why.
It’s the tears, swallowing your words
like cotton candy melting on the tongue.
The pain is etched into your face,
scars matching those on my heart.
I am a boat drifting to sea,
my anchor broken in your hands.
I am gone and
your bottled messages are soggy.
Your chest heaves with the
melancholy you’ve swallowed,
and I know the beat of your heart is
tragedy. Is the start of us
a thing of the past, the flamed end
all that I’ll have to remember?
This ache is ours,
but we’ll mend ourselves separately.
I am a bird and you are a tree,
and things just weren’t meant to be.

no more

Leave a Reply

