Love is

Pinpointed destinations on a map
Sprawled across the wall,
The desire for travel
Pulling my bones like a puppet on strings.
A swimming pool
Full of crisp aqua swallows
My soul:
Floating, drowning.
An inverted seesaw
Puts me to flight
Staring in your eyes,
And falling just as quickly
With the sinking feeling in my tummy-
butterfly wings in my throat.
The chill of mortality
Creeps up my spine
Like Jack Frost’s own respiration.
A timeline
Endures the life of its creator,
Continuing infinitely after
Alone.
Your eyelash on my cheek
Rouses me from sleep.

Love is

Leave a Reply

