Dear me:

Dear broken spirit-
the world isn’t kind.
You will be shattered,
thrown out the window
like dead flowers that no one wants.
Want yourself.

Dear strangled confidence-
you have been wrung out like
a dirty dishrag. You do not
see the point of going on.
Go on anyway.

Dear gripping insecurity-
you hang from my shoulders
like a shawl, weighing me
down, drowning me,
turning me on myself.
You will not win.

Dear broken heart-
love is not finite.
You have given,
and you will give again.
And, too, you shall
receive.

Dear beautiful soul-
it will get worse before it gets better.
Escape by loving harder,
writing more, and
singing the song of
the stars.

I promise you,
all that you’ll go through,
it’s worth it someday.

Dear me:

Leave a Reply

