Chilled to the bone

I haven’t felt the cold in years

But tonight it cuts to my bone

Shivering under the chill of my fears

Frozen in the solitude of alone

Passersby speak words I cannot hear

Golden sunshine eyes concerned

But when this strange old friend is near

My life, this life, stands discerned

Hallow eyes, deep, dim, and bleak

Estranged heart beats beneath

Tis the eve when sinners speak

And empty promises bequeath

Dark, dark night surrounds the light

Captured flame and distinguished tries

And so the Horror aims to spite

The heartless sell their lies

And I, I am cold today

Amongst the turmoil of broken place

My lungs hold no more words to say

My horizon free of sunrise to face.

Chilled to the bone

Leave a Reply

