” I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.” Maya Angelou

I didn’t intend for this to be a post. I wrote it simply to express these feelings I can’t quite grasp. But it turned out better than I had hoped. So I figured I would share it, here, for you.

Human.

I feel pretty human today.

There’s no invincibility running through my veins. No supernatural abilities folded in my hands.

I’m vulnerable to the ups and downs. I’m vulnerable to my own mortality, the blood rushing through my veins, the whoosh-whoosh of my heart beating.

I’m impressionable, these things that are happening, they’re going to affect me. I’m no stone woman, I’m no brick wall, I’m just a human trying to do the best with the world I’m in.

Some days, I might be super woman. Sometimes, I can do it all. You’d think me strong, you’d think me powerful, and you wouldn’t be wrong.

But I am no 24/7, I am no standard emotion. I am a bundle of diversified days and moments. I feel so strongly the beauty of a blue sky, a starry night. I feel so intensely the miscommunication of a friend, the loss of time that could have been better spent. I am emotional, I am reasonable, I am everything we are from top to bottom, start to finish, here to there.

I feel pretty human today.

The weight of the world would crush me, though other days I carry it as if it’s but a feather. A knife in the back would kill me, though other days I pull it out and hand it back to the perpetrator, forgiving.

I see my size in the scale of worldwide, though other days I would have you believe I am big, I am bold, I can and will be whatever I decide. I am right.

Today is one day, in a lifetime of days. I will feel many things. I will know many challenges, I will face adversity none can imagine. I have lived a short time and fought great battles.

I am a warrior, with survival instinct in tact. I am a dreamer, with opportunity in my grasp. I am an advocate, with words ready to express the injustice of our time. I am a child, coloring pictures and playing with toys. I am a scholar, writing papers and expressing my mind. I am a philosopher, observing and directing attention to aspects of this life. I am an artist, showing others perspectives they could never imagine on their own. I am bold, I am brave, I am exuberant and daring. I am the potential of the future and the product of the past.

I am a life. I am an entity tied to the core of this world sailing like a kite from the hand of a child. I will brave new heights, I will face the wind, and I will endure lightning strikes. I am who you think I am, and who you will never know me to be.

I feel pretty human today.

Isn’t that something?

” I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.” Maya Angelou

3 thoughts on “” I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.” Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

