“I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” Mohandas Gandhi

I very much enjoy this YouTube video.

More and more I am coming across questions of religious understanding, religious practice…religiousness in and of itself.

I am a Christian, in essence. I believe in God and I believe in Jesus. I have not read the Bible. I’m not sure I ever will. I like to think I have a pretty good understanding of what is or isn’t moral…more so than a bible could provide me with.

That being said, see this video.

What is religion anyway? Spirituality, isn’t it different? Can’t I believe in religious ideals yet practice differently? Religion is by definition up to the interpretation of followers. This being said, is it wrong for certain zealots to preach the Bible and throw verses in the face of others? Not at all. I am have nothing against those who are truthful in their condemnation of others lifestyles and behaviors if they do indeed follow the scripture by word on everything.

Few people do such a thing. In fact, very few actually do such a thing.

Organized religion is a joke to me. Sure, there are certain aspects that are vital to religiosity. But who has the right to judge others, to decide what is right or wrong, to set forth rules and regulations about religious practice?

What do you think?

“I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” Mohandas Gandhi

Leave a Reply

