“There is more to life than increasing its speed.” Mahatma Ghandi

“People are stupid.” reads my Facebook status. Given, I wrote it in sheer exhausted frustration, but it still yielded some agreement from my collection of friends. Now, I find some humor in it. Each person takes the time to like this status with some individual(s) in mind. The people they consider to be stupid. But they’re people too. In liking said status, they agree that they themselves are stupid. We generally come to the consensus that “people are stupid,” but never do we believe ourselves to fall into such a category. We tend to think we are the exception to a lot of things.

I readily admit that I’m stupid. As stupid people go. I’ve done dumb things, made stupid mistakes, and often don’t think things through. I know I’m one of those people that others roll their eyes at. I’ll admit it. I know that I’m human, and I firmly believe that I can always be better than I am. So, increasingly I find it absurd the way individuals are able to look at someone else and judge them without first judging themselves in the very same fashion.

I try not to judge others at all. I do, I can’t say that I don’t. Even the simplest of judgments–man, that person is annoying…they’re overreacting…I’ve had to deal with worse than that–on and on. But I also understand that we’re each completely unique. We are prepared by the lives we’ve lived to deal with certain levels of things. What is bad to one person may be nothing to another. And each situation is different. That’s why you can’t really compare yourself to others, or compare others to yourself. It’s like comparing apples and oranges–they’re not really alike.

That’s my mini-rant for the evening. Still pretty tired. Hopefully I’ll get back into the swing of things and have some worthwhile posts here soon.

“There is more to life than increasing its speed.” Mahatma Ghandi

Leave a Reply

